Summer of ’16

Summer of ’16, changed everything.

I finally got over the man who broke my foolish heart and let go of everything I had held on to; my memories with him, my feelings for him and my deep sense of hurt at his betrayal. Summer of ’16, I finally forgave him in my heart and let him go.

I caved in to my deepest inner desires, I gave in to the lust that I’d always been too inhibited to act on or express. Summer of ’16, I let myself free, opened my heart and liberated myself.

I met a man who is nothing like anyone I’ve met before, who made me feel stronger than ever without realizing it, and we formed a connection I cannot put to words and nor do I feel compelled to. It is beautiful, it is comfortable and it is heart-warming. Perfectly imperfect, devoid of expectations or promises and yet filled with much joy and happiness. Summer of ’16, I realized tags are unnecessary and it is the fear of the end of something, anything that ruins the magic of the experience.

I wrote my heart out and found solace in the same. Summer of ’16, I realized writing is my favourite escape.

Summer of ’16, I found happiness in the little things.

Summer of ’16, I finally healed.

 

 

Published by

karthikaaaa

20, Bangalore. Christ University. Writer, Photographer.

4 thoughts on “Summer of ’16”

  1. Summer of ’16 was indeed a special one. It was special for the whole of Bangalore as this was the hottest summer since 83 years.

    Glad that it helped you heal!

    By the way, you seem to have a gift. A gift of putting the right words together in a more meaningful and emotional way. Your articles are inspiring. Keep up the god work. Looking forward for a lot more!

    Like

  2. I found your blog on Artelier and I couldn’t stop reading. and that, my friend is one of my most favourite feelings. Thank you, for giving me this feeling once again. I had lost it a while back, but i’m just so grateful that you found it for me. Keep writing. Your art matters to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

